liam 385 Full Album Stream: Beady Eye   Different Gear, Still Speeding

Liam Gallagher (Photo: ShowBizIreland/Getty Images)

[lastfm]Oasis[/lastfm] imploded in 2009 due to the rivalry between brothers Liam and Noel Gallagher. Upon Noel’s exit, Liam Gallagher announced that his new group, [lastfm]Beady Eye[/lastfm] will feature Oasis members Gem Archer and Andy Bell (who moves from bass to guitar) and touring drummer Chris Sharrock. If it weren’t too obvious that Liam worships at the alter of [lastfm]John Lennon[/lastfm], he included the song titled “Beatles and Stones” on this album. The disc also echoes the sound of some British rock heavyweights from [lastfm]the Hollies[/lastfm] to [lastfm]the Kinks[/lastfm].

Any fan of [lastfm]Oasis[/lastfm] should be pretty happy with Different Gear, Still Speeding. The band gives us more of the same familiar sound they boosted from the Beatles and a now-targeted anger toward big bro, Noel.

155 Full Album Stream: Beady Eye   Different Gear, Still Speeding

The disc immediately brings you in with a bombastic [lastfm]Beatles[/lastfm] sound in “Four Letter Word” followed by my favorite cut off the album, “Millionaire.” it’s something straight out of a set from [lastfm]Gomez[/lastfm] – definitely not a bad thing. The single, “The Roller” the gears of this machine will roll on without Noel and is “Just gonna show ya” that the band can make this album as successful as any the had released under the name Oasis.

launcher beady eye Full Album Stream: Beady Eye   Different Gear, Still Speeding

[pullquote quote=”Life is really too short not to forgive.” credit=”Andy Bell, Beady Eye”]Though you could look at most of the album’s content as a direct F-you to Noel (even the band photo above mock Noel shoing an open void where he would otherwise be), “Kill For A Dream” hints at forgiveness with the lyrics, “Life’s too short not to forgive/You can carry regrets but they won’t let you live.” Guitarist, Andy bell told, “People might well hear it that way if they want. I’m well aware of that. Look. Whoever it’s directed to, it’s a true statement. Life is really too short not to forgive.”

If you’re not up to speed on the breakup, [lastfm]Ben Folds[/lastfm]’ song “Army” offers us the Cliffs Notes about the split. “The band broke up in May and in June reformed without me … and they got a different name.”

Unfortunately, the name they came up could have, in my opinion, used a little more work. “Ladies and gentlemen, ‘Beady Eye?’” I don’t know if that packs the punch this band is looking to dish out.

Band name aside, Different Gear, Still Speeding is a crisp, clean effort and worth a listen or two. Stream the album above and let us know what you think!

Track listing
1. Four Letter Word
2. Millionaire
3. The Roller
4. Beatles and Stones
5. Wind Up Dream
6. Bring the Light
7. For Anyone
8. Kill For A Dream
9. Standing on the Edge of the Noise
10. Wigwam
11. Three Ring Circus
12. The Beat Goes On
13. The Morning Son

Different Gear, Still Speeding is available now on iTunes. and the super-fan can pick up a special iTunes LP which features the exclusive track “Man Of Misery”, as well as “Sons Of The Stage”, the album booklet and the music videos for “Bring The Light”, “Four Letter Word” and “Sons Of The Stage”, plus extra exclusive video footage.

Audio: Jason Thomas Chats With Liam Gallagher

Free Download From Liam Gallagher’s New Band, ‘Beady Eye’

Most Anticipated Albums Of 2011 – From Coldplay To The Cars, R.E.M. To Radiohead

cover 385 Full Album Stream: Beady Eye   Different Gear, Still Speeding

Comments (2)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From WXRT

15 Of The Most Valuable Rock Records
Watch Live From Studio X Performances

Listen Live