"I felt like I had been robbed of... the most valuable thing in a person's life… Time."

By Amanda Wicks

Ryan Adams returns in 2017 with a new album, Prisoner.

Related: Ryan Adams Wrote 80 Songs for New Album

Before announcing his newest project, Adams detailed how he went into a prolific writing period that produced 80 songs. But he culled those options down to 12 for the album, which arrives February 17th. It marks Adams’ first original music since his self-titled release in 2014. He recorded and released a cover album of Taylor Swift’s 1989 in 2015.

Speaking with feline talk show host Lil BUB, Adams opened up about writing the songs on Prisoner. “I was reflecting on the different states of desire and what it means to be a prisoner of your own desire,” he said, later adding, “I felt like I had been robbed of… the most valuable thing in a person’s life… Time.”

He also shared the album’s first single, “Do You Still Love Me?” which is a moody, conflicted look at a failing relationship. Fans who pre-order Prisoner will receive an instant download of the track. Check out the full track list below.

1.    Do You Still Love Me?
2.    Prisoner
3.    Doomsday
4.    Haunted House
5.    Shiver and Shake
6.    To Be Without You
7.    Anything I Say To You Now
8.    Breakdown
9.    Outbound Train
10.  Broken Anyway
11.  Tightrope
12.  We Disappear

More From WXRT

15 Of The Most Valuable Rock Records
Watch Live From Studio X Performances

Listen Live