THE BIG BEAT Playlist - 2/11/19

Yes, that's a picture of James Murphy. Yes, we have new music from LCD Soundsystem.

February 11, 2019

James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem (Photo by PA Images/Sipa USA)


We've already shared LCD Soundsystem's version of Heaven 17's "(We Don't Need This) Fascist Groove Thang," and now it's our absolute pleasure to highlight another cover from the newly-released Electric Lady Sessions. James and the gang do an excellent, live-in-the-studio job with The Human League's "Seconds," and it's just one of the twenty-six gems that we have on display this week, so get clickin'.

On to the picks...


Interpol - "Fine Mess" (Matador)

James Blake - "Where's the Catch? (feat. André 3000)" (Republic)

Nilüfer Yanya - "In Your Head" (ATO)


LCD Soundsystem - "Seconds (Electric Lady Sessions)" (Columbia/DFA)

Orville Peck - "Dead of Night" (Sub Pop)

Swervedriver - "Spiked Flower" (Dangerbird)

TR/ST - "Gone" (Luminelle/Fat Possum)

RAT BOY - "DON'T HESITATE" (Hellcat/Parlophone)

Craig Finn - "Blankets" (Partisan)


Jamila Woods - "ZORA" (Jagjaguwar)

Field Medic - "henna tattoo" (Run For Cover)

Andrew Bird - "Sisyphus" (Loma Vista/Concord)

filous - "Bicycle (feat. klei)" (Ultra)


FONTAINES D.C. - "Big" (Partisan)

American Football - "Uncomfortably Numb (feat. Hayley Williams)" (Polyvinyl)

Theophilus London & Tame Impala - "Whiplash" (my bebey/independently popular.)


Ex Hex - "Tough Enough" (Merge)

Cautious Clay - "HONEST ENOUGH" (Self-Released)

Phosphorescent - "C'est La Vie No. 2" (Dead Oceans)

Bob Mould - "Lost Faith" (Merge)

Sneaks - "Hong Kong to Amsterdam" (Merge)

Stephen Malkmus - "Viktor Borgia" (Matador)


RY X - "Bound" (BMG)

Bayonne - "Drastic Measures" (Mom + Pop)

Wild Belle - "Mockingbird" (Love Tone)

Empress Of, Perfume Genius, Jim-E Stack - "When I'm With Him" (Terrible)